Motion Regarding Parenting Time Form. This is a Michigan form and can be use in Domestic Relations Statewide.
Tags: Motion Regarding Parenting Time, FOC 65, Michigan Statewide, Domestic Relations
Form FOC 65 MOTION REGARDING PARENTING TIME Use this form if: · you have a pending case for divorce, separate maintenance, family support, or paternity; or · you have a judgment of divorce or separate maintenance, a family support order, or an order of filiation but parenting time was not included; or · you already have parenting time orders in your judgment of divorce or separate maintenance, your family support order, or your order of filiation and you want the court to either order parenting time or change parenting time. If you want the court to change support, use form FOC 52. If you want the court to change custody, use form FOC 87. American LegalNet, Inc. www.FormsWorkFlow.com MOTION CHECKLIST Use the following checklist to make sure you have done all the steps that are needed. DID YOU . . . 1. 2. Fill out all requested information on the form? Complete and attach MC 416, Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction Enforcement Act Affidavit? Make all necessary copies? Pay the fees to the clerk? Mail (serve) a copy of the motion and MC 416 on the other party and on any other custodian/guardian after the judge and hearing date were assigned to your case by the clerk? Return to the clerk's office after you mailed the motion and notice of hearing and MC 416 to the other party and completed the certificate of mailing? Keep one copy of the motion, notice of hearing and MC 416 forms for yourself? Give two copies of the completed form to the clerk of the court? YES YES YES YES 3. 4. 5. YES 6. YES YES YES 7. 8. If you cannot answer "yes" to all the above steps, a hearing on your motion may be delayed or your motion may be dismissed. By using this form packet you are representing yourself in a court action regarding parenting time. In order to receive the action you seek, you must follow the instructions in this packet. If you fail to do even one of the required steps, the order you get from the court may not give you the parenting time you want. If you have any questions about the steps in the process, refer to pages 3 through 5 of this booklet for details. PAGE 2 American LegalNet, Inc. www.FormsWorkFlow.com INSTRUCTIONS FOR USING FORM FOC 65 FILING A MOTION AND SERVING A MOTION »» FILING A MOTION 1. Fill out the Motion form. Use the instructions on page 6. Be careful not to make mistakes. Before filling out the "Notice of Hearing" part of the form, contact the friend of the court office to find out whom to contact about getting a hearing date. Then contact the person or office as directed by the friend of the court office. Fill in the form with the information you get about the hearing date, location of hearing, and name of the judge or referee who will be hearing the motion. Make at least five copies of the form after you have filled it out. 2. Fill out MC 416, Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction Enforcement Act Affidavit. 3. File the Motion form and MC 416 with the county clerk. Take the original and five copies of the form and MC 416 to the county clerk in the county where your case is located. You must pay a $20.00 motion fee. You may also be required to pay an $80.00 judgment and order entry fee when the motion and MC 416 are filed. If you can't afford to pay the fees, ask the county clerk for an Affidavit and Order, Suspension of Fees/Costs (form MC 20 not included in this packet) to fill out. The county clerk will write the name of the judge assigned to your case on your form. The clerk will keep the original and one copy of the motion, MC 416 and any attachments for the court file and the friend of the court. Then the clerk will return four copies and remaining attachments to you. Do not lose them. What you should have when you leave the clerk's office: One copy of FOC 65 and MC 416 (with any attachments) - for you One copy of FOC 65 and MC 416 (with any attachments) - for the other party One copy of FOC 65 - for proof of service to the court One copy of FOC 65 - for proof of service to the friend of the court »» SERVING THE MOTION ON THE OTHER PARTY OR PARTIES 1. Serve the Motion, MC 416 and Notice of Hearing on the other party. The other parent, or other party (if there is a custodian or guardian other than a parent) must be served with (notified of) the motion and hearing date at least 9 days before the hearing date. NOTE: Serve the papers by mailing them to the other party by first-class mail. PAGE 3 American LegalNet, Inc. www.FormsWorkFlow.com What you need for service: One copy of FOC 65 and MC 416 (with any attachments) - for the other party Two copies of FOC 65 - for proof of service Any additional copies of FOC 65 and MC 416 (with any attachments) - for other custodian or guardian if there is someone other than the other parent who has care or custody of the child(ren). Mail one copy and MC 416 with attachments to the other party. If there is a custodian or guardian, mail one copy with attachments and MC 416 to him/her. Then fill out the Certificate of Mailing on the front of the remaining three copies. Keep one copy of the forms and attachments for your own records. 2. Return to the county clerk. Once you have mailed the motion and notice of hearing and MC 416 and filled out the Certificate of Mailing on the remaining three copies of FOC 65, return to the county clerk's office with two copies. Remember to keep one copy for your own records. The county clerk will deliver one copy to the friend of the court. 3. Response from other party. If you receive a response to your motion from the other party, make sure you read it before you attend the hearing. Think about what you want to say on your behalf. 4. Attend the hearing. You must attend the hearing on the motion. »» INFORMATION ABOUT ATTENDING THE HEARING Bring the original and five copies of the Order Regarding Parenting Time (Form FOC 67) with you to the hearing. Also bring all supporting papers you have and any witnesses who are willing to testify. 1. Because you are representing yourself, you are expected to conduct yourself as an attorney would and to follow the same general rules an attorney would. 2. Make a list of information you think is important for the referee or judge to know. The information should relate to the reasons stated in your motion. You can use this list as a reminder to bring up the points you think are important. 3. If you think you need to order someone to attend this hearing, follow the procedure in Michigan Court Rule 2.506 or consult with an attorney. 4. Go to the judge's courtroom or re